Early voting begins Tuesday, Feb. 18 and continues through Friday, Feb. 28 for the March 3 primary.

This year, some people are waiting until primary day to vote to see how the presidential candidates are doing. The South Carolina primary takes place on Saturday, Feb. 29, the day after early voting ends in Texas. The Nevada caucus takes place on Saturday, Feb. 22.

Others will take advantage of early voting and not choose a candidate based on how other states voted.

A variety of other races will be decided on March 3. Stonewall Democrats of Dallas screened candidates over several weekends in January and issued its list of endorsed candidates. Here’s Stonewall’s endorsed candidates:


For president, Stonewall made no endorsements.

U.S. Senate: Amanda Edwards

U.S. House of Representatives:
District 3: Lulu Seikaly
District 24: Kim Olson
District 30: Eddie Bernice Johnson
District 32: Colin Allred
District 33: Marc Veasey


Railroad Commissioner: Chrysta Castaneda

Texas Supreme Court:
Chief Justice: Amy Clark Meachum
Place 6: Larry Praeger
Place 7: Staci Williams
Place 8: Gisela D Triana

Texas Criminal Appeals Court:
Place 3: Elizabeth Davis Frizell
Place 4: Tina Clinton
Place 9: Brandon Birmingham


Texas House of Representatives:
District 66: Sharon Hirsch
District 67: Rocio Gosewehr Hernandez
District 100: Jasmine Crockett
District 103: Rafael Anchia
District 105: Terry Meza
District 107: Victoria Neave
District 108: Joanna Catternach
District 109: Carl Sherman Sr.
District 113: Rhetta Andrews Bowers
District 114: John Turner
District 115: Julie Johnson

5th Court of Appeals:
Place 3: Bonnie Goldstein
Place 6: Craig Smith

14th Judicial District, Civil Court: Eric V. Moye

95th Judicial District, Civil Court: Monica Purdy

162nd Judicial District, Civil Court: Maricela Moore

254th Judicial District, Civil Court: Sandre Street Moncriffe

Criminal District Court:
Place 2: Nancy Kennedy
Place 3: Alison Grinter Allen
Place 4: Dominique Collins

Sheriff: Roy Willams, Jr.

Tax Assessor-Collector: John Ames

County Commissioner District 1: Theresa Daniel

DCDP Chair: Carol Donovan

— David Taffet