Dale Hansen (via RTDNF)

The Radio Television Digital News Foundation (RTDNF) will honor Dale Hansen along with a group of national and international journalists with a First Amendment Award.

Hansen will receive the organization’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Hansen would probably say he’s getting it because he’s old. RTDNF President Dave Lougee said, “Dale Hansen is nothing less than a Texas institution. His contributions to sports broadcasting simply cannot be overstated. His excellence in reporting and straight-shooting commentaries have made indelible marks on our industry and our nation’s civic discourse.”

Hansen came to national prominence for his outspoken on-air defense of Michael Sam. Last summer, he was given Hero of Hope Award by Cathedral of Hope and has been recognized by Black Tie Dinner. Since then, he’s become a major fundraiser for Black Tie.

Among others to be honored are Jamal Khashoggi, the Washington Post writer who was murdered in the Saudi Arabian embassy in Turkey, who will be given a Citation of Courage.

CNN will receive The First Amendment Award honoring “an outstanding individual or organization which champions the First Amendment and press freedoms.”

Out CBS reporter David Begnaud will be recognized for his coverage of the ongoing crisis in Puerto Rico following Hurricane Maria, his reporting on the Pulse nightclub shooting and more with a First Amendment Leadership Award.

— David Taffet